CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Medals 2010 Announced

The winners of the 2010 CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Medals have been announced today. Neil Gaiman has accepted the prestigious CILIP Carnegie for his brilliant novel, 'The Graveyard Book'. For those who haven't read it, this is the story of Nobody Owens, or Bod. Bod is adopted by the resident deceased of a graveyard. They raise him from the tender age of two years, after the murder of his parents and sister. 'The Graveyard Book' is gripping, tender and moving. The development of characters and the plotline are exceptional. A thoroughly deserving winner!
The equally prestigious Kate Greenaway Medal for Illustration has gone to Freya Blackwood for her genuine and original illustrations in 'Harry and Hopper' (story by Margaret Wild.) The illustrations convey the touching story of a young boy coming to terms with the sudden death of his beloved dog and best friend, Hopper, with a genuine human quality to which we can all relate. Timeless!


Popular posts from this blog

The Rights of the Reader

World Book Day Extravaganza - Day 3

The Summer of Lily and Esme by John Quinn....25 years