Red House Children's Book Award

The results are in and counted and the Red House Children's Book Award winners has been announced!
The overall winner comes from the category of 'Older Readers' is 'Hunger Games' by Suzanne Collins. The other nominees in the Older Readers category were: 'Auslander' by Paul Dowswell and 'Love, Aubrey' by Suzanne LaFleur.
Category winners and nominees were as follows:
For the Younger Readers, the winner is 'Mondays Are Murder' by Tanya Landman. Also nominated in that category were 'Angel Cake' by Cathy Cassidy and 'Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Last Straw' by Jeff Kinney.
In the category of Younger Children, the winner is ' Bottoms Up!' by Jeanne Willis and Adam Stower. Others nominated were 'The Baby Dragon-Tamer' by Jan Fearnley, 'Crunch Munch Dinosaur Lunch' by Paul Bright & Mike Terry and 'A Very Strange Creature' by Ronda Armitage & Layn Marlow.
The Red House Children's Book Award is given annually in three categories. It is the only award that is judged entirely by children from nominations through to the final overall winner. The top 50 titles nominated in each year are published as the 'Pick of the Year' list. (Agreat way to find out what the children themselves are thinking about their books!)
The Red House Children's Book Awards have a great website which gives all the information on the current and past winners, who they are, what they do, travelling exhibitions and even how to nominate for the next years awards...and an on-line newsletter to subscribe, in order to keep up with all the latest children's thinking on great books! Who could ask for more?


Popular posts from this blog

The Rights of the Reader

World Book Day Extravaganza - Day 3