Branford Boase Award 2019 Shortlist

Just a quick post here to congratulate the seven nominees on the shortlist for the prestigious Branford Boase Awards.
Twenty years ago, the Branford Boase (childrens book) Awards were established to commemorate author Henrietta Branford and Walker Books editor Wendy Boase. Now recognised as one of the most important, influential awards in childrens books, The Branford Boase Award identifies outstanding debut authors; those who will go on to make a huge impact on the world of childrens books. Additionally, it recognises their editors, those unsung heroes behind the scenes whose invaluable work moves a book forward from the publishing house out into the world. Over the last twenty years, some of the authors honoured with this award include, Meg Rosoff, Frances Hardinge, Philip Reeve, Patrick Ness and Marcus Sedgwick.
This years' shortlisted authors are hugely varied and incredibly talented. But they all echo the current themes and concerns of the majority of childrens literature today. Reflecting books of both middle grade fiction and young adult fiction, recurring complex issues such as identity, resilience, place in the world and developing a sense of self are presented within exceptionally told stories that will live long in the memory and imagination of anyone who reads them.
So...congratulations to:
The House With Chicken Legs by Sophie Anderson; edited by Rebecca Hill and Becky Walker; Usborne Books
The Train To Impossible Places by P.G. Bell; edited by Rebecca Walker and Becky Walker; Usborne Books
Rosie Loves Jack by Mel Darbon, edited by Sarah Stewart; Usborne Books
The Goose Road by Morwena House; edited by Mara Bergman; Walker Books
I Am Thunder by Muhammad Khan; edited by Lucy Pearce; Macmillan
Orphan Monster Spy by Matt Killeen; edited by Sarah Stewart and Kendra Levin; Usborne Books
The Boy At The Back Of The Class by Onjali Q. Raúf; edited by Lena McCauley; Hachette Orion

If you haven't read all of these yet, you have a bit of time.
The 2019 Branford Boase Winner will be announced on Thursday, 27 June at an award ceremony in London.


Popular posts from this blog

The Rights of the Reader

The Summer of Lily and Esme by John Quinn....25 years