CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Short Lists 2016

This years' shortlists for the coveted CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway medals were released yesterday.
The CILIP Carnegie is is quite teen/YA heavy, with Patrick Ness aspiring to become the first author ever to win the CILIP Carnegie three times. Thematically, all are linked by issues surrounding secrets and lies, those things that are hidden and must be revealed. All the novels are eloquent and expertly written with a clear understanding of how it feels to be a young person coping in a world of very adult concerns. The list is as follows:
Patrick Ness, The Rest of Us Just Live Here
Frances Hardinge The Lie Tree
Nick Lake, There Will Be Lies
Sarah Crossan, One
Robin Talley, Lies We Tell Ourselves
Kate Saunders, Five Children On The Western Front
Jenny Valentine, Fire Colour One
Marcus Sedgwick, The Ghosts of Heaven

The Kate Greenaway Medal makes a return to traditional picture books, as opposed to lasts years' list. Three of the illustrators on he list, Anthony Browne, Helen Oxenbury and Chris Riddell, all have two Greenaway medals under their belts, so are also looking for a hat trick. And there is a magnificent addition of a wordless picture book in Footpath Flowers. Each book is powerful and delightful in its' own right. The list is:
Anthony Browne, Willy's Stories
Oliver Jeffers, Once Upon An Alphabet
Jon Klassen (illustrator) and Mac Barnett (author), Sam and Dave Dig a Hole
Jackie Morris, Something About a Bear
Ross Collins, There's a Bear On My Chair
Helen Oxenbury (illustrator) and Peter Bentley (author), Captain Jack and the Pirates
Sydney Smith (illustrator) and JonArno Lawson (author), Footpath Flowers
Chriss Riddell (illustrator) and Neil Gaiman (author), The Sleeper and the Spindle

The winners of the CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Medals for 2016 will be announced on Monday, 20th of June. Each winner receives the medal itself and £500 worth of books to donate to their local library! (And that is amazing!)
In addition, for the first time, one book will be selected from the shortlist to receive the Amnesty CILIP honour. This will be given to the book that most distinctively upholds, illuminates or celebrates freedoms. A very moving honour to receive.


Popular posts from this blog

The Rights of the Reader

The Summer of Lily and Esme by John Quinn....25 years