Newbery and Caldecott Awards 2014

Big, big congratulations go out to this years' Newbery and Caldecott Award winners!
First, for the Newbery Medal 2014! This goes to the one and only Kate DiCamillo for the outstanding book : Flora & Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures. Illustrated by K.G. Campbell, this award
winner offers us the story of Flora, a young comic enthusiast and self-avowed cynic who saves a squirrel from a vacuum cleaner. The squirrel acquires super-powers from his trauma, and Flora learns the value of being a little less cynical. The John Newbery Medal is given annually for the "most outstanding contribution to children's literature".

The Caldecott Medal 2014 has gone to Brian Floca for his amazing picture book, Locomotive. This book follows the adventures of a family and crew as they travel across America on it's new transcontinental railroad in 1869. The Randolph Caldecott Medal is given annually for the "most distinguished American picture book for children".

Also, at this time, the Michael L. Prinz Award 2014 was given for "excellence in literature written for
young adults". This award went to the incredible Marcus Sedgwick (whose been giving me chills for the last 10 years!) for Midwinterblood.

Congratulations to these most worthy, brilliant winners!


Popular Posts