Branford Boase Award 2014 longlist

The Branford Boase Award longlist for 2014 has been announced. For those of you who aren't familiar with this award, the Branford Boase Award is given annually to the author and editor of an outstanding debut novel in children's fiction. Past winners have included such brilliant books as How I Live Now by Meg Rosoff (2005), A Swift Pure Cry (2007) by Siobhan Dowd,  Fly By Night by Frances Hardinge (2006...oh, how I love this book!) and last year's winner, the curious and wonderful A Boy, A Bear and a Boat by Dave Shelton.

This years' longlist is comprised of an outstanding array of debut novels. Here's the complete list:
Sorrowline by Niel Bushnell, edited by Charlie Sheppard (Andersen Press)
The Child’s Elephant by Rachel Campbell-Johnston edited by Bella Pearson and Natalie Doherty (David Fickling Books)
Frost Hollow Hall by Emma Carroll, edited by Rebecca Lee (Faber)
Winter Damage by Natasha Carthew, edited by Rebecca McNally (Bloomsbury)
The Bone Dragon by Alexia Casale, edited by Rebecca Lee (Faber)
Tiger Thief by Michaela Clarke, edited by Kirsty Stansfield (Nosy Crow)
Darcy Burdock by Laura Dockrill, edited by Lauren Buckland (Random House)
After Eden by Helen Douglas, edited by Ele Fountain (Bloomsbury)
Fearsome Dreamer by Laure Eve, edited by Emily Thomas (Hot Key)
Infinite Sky by CJ Flood, edited by Venetia Gosling (Simon & Schuster)
The Disappeared by CJ Harper, edited by Jane Griffiths (Simon and Schuster)
Wild Boy by Rob Lloyd Jones edited by Mara Bergman (Walker)
The Mysterious Adventures of Clemency Wrigglesworth by Julia Lee, edited by Liz Cross and Helen Bray (OUP)
Red Ink by Julie Mayhew, edited by Emily Thomas (Hot Key)
The Oathbreaker’s Shadow by Amy McCulloch, edited by Lauren Buckland (Random House)
Ferryman by Claire McFall, edited by Helen Boyle (Templar)
Alex the Dog and the Unopenable Door by Montgomery Ross, edited by Rebecca Lee & Susila Baybars (Faber)
The River Singers by Tom Moorhouse, edited by Liz Cross and Claire Westwood (Oxford University Press)
East of the Sun, West of the Moon by Jackie Morris, edited by Janetta Otter-Barry (Frances Lincoln Children’s Books)
Poison Boy by Fletcher Moss, edited by Imogen Cooper and Barry Cunningham (Chicken House)
The Hanged Man Rises by Sarah Naughton, edited by Venetia Gosling (Simon and Schuster)
Gabriel’s Clock by Hilton Pashley, edited by Charlie Sheppard/Eloise Wilson (Andersen Press)
Acid by Emma Pass, edited by Ruth Knowles and Jessica Clarke (Random House)
Sun Catcher ny Sheila Rance, edited by Fiona Kennedy (Orion)
The Quietness by Alison Rattle, edited by Sarah Odedina (Hot Key)
Geek Girl by Holly Smale, edited by Lizzie Clifford (HarperCollins)
My Friend the Enemy by Dan Smith, edited by Rachel Leyshon (Chicken House)
The Last Wild by Piers Torday, edited by Sarah Lambert (Quercus) 

The shortlist will be announced on May 1st, and the winner will be revealed on Thursday, JUly 10th at a ceremony in London.
For more on the Branford Boase Award and updates, follow the link:


Popular posts from this blog

The Rights of the Reader

The Summer of Lily and Esme by John Quinn....25 years